COV 91621

Robert Schumann wrote four symphonies: these four orchestral works tie in closely with the development of his career. The Second and the Fourth Symphonies are a little outshone by the popular Rhenish and Spring Symphonies. That said, these two works, which (contrary to what their numbering suggests) were written successively in 1841 and 1845, demonstrate in enthralling fashion Schumann’s practice of experimenting with symphonic form. Marcus Bosch and the Cappella Aquileia explore the nuances of his music, supplemented by the overture from the opera Genoveva which shows Schumann at the height of his symphonic works.

“The verve and accuracy of the musicians under Marcus Bosch cause this interpretation with its splendidly coherent tempi to shine, transforming it into a truly moving and multifaceted experience!”
(Burkhard Egdorf in: SWR Cluster 10.11.2016)

“Our experience was a slim and firm sound with strings and woodwind carefully balanced. This was of particular advantage to Schumann’s problem child, the 2nd Symphony, in particular […] these recordings are of a high quality and are therefore an interesting addition to the Schumann catalogue.”
(Pedro Obiera in: WAZ 6.10.2016)

Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
Symphony No. 4 in d Minor, Op. 120
1. I Ziemlich langsam – Lebhaft 10:38
2. II Romanze. Ziemlich langsam 3:24
3. III Scherzo. Lebhaft – Trio 5:34
4. IV Langsam – Lebhaft – Presto 7:45
Symphony No. 2 in C Major, Op. 61
5. I Sostenuto assai – Allegro ma non troppo 11:25
6. II Scherzo. Allegro vivace 6:37
7. III Adagio espressivo 7:56
8. IV Allegro molto vivace 7:26
9. Overture from Genoveva, Op. 81 7:51
Total time: 1:08:43

Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner