The path ‘from the Romantic to the Avant Garde’ may seem at first sight a straightforward one, perhaps along a line from approachability to difficulty, from melody to fragment, or from harmony to dissonance. But first sight is rarely 20/20, as the particular path Claudia Maria Racovicean has chosen for this disc suggests. By ear alone it is relatively simple to place the composers here on the historical timeline. More enjoyable, however, and the reason we listen to them together, is to twist that line into knots and loops that reveal connections across history.

1. Aaron Copland (1900 – 1990): Piano Variations 11:51
Hugo Wolf (1860 – 1903) Selected Songs
Arr. by Aaron Holloway-Nahum & Claudia Maria Racovicean
2. Elfenlied 1:52
3. Gebet 2:18
4. Verborgenheit 3:01
5. Begegnung 1:34
Claude Debussy (1862 – 1918): Selected Preludes
6. Les collines d’Anacapri (Book I No V) 3:49
7. Ce qu’a vu le Vent d’Ouest (Book I No VII) 3:48
8. Brouillards (Book II No I) 3:21
9. “Général Lavine” – excentric (Book II No VI) 3:01
10. Feux d’artifice (Book II No XII) 4:50
11. Matthias Pintscher (b. 1971): On a Clear Day 8:48
12. Franz Liszt (1811 – 1886): Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2 11:20
Total time: 59:39


Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner