‘Con brio’ is an instruction in Beethoven’s works that is not uncommon, and awakening the invoked “fire” is one of the challenges for interpreters of the composer’s early works. The Duo Alexander calls their new recording of works for violoncello and piano ‘Feuerfarbe’ (Fire Colour) in the style of a Beethoven contemporary from Bonn. Here the two musicians truly bring fire to the CD.

Duo Alexander
Sonate op. 5 Nr. 2 in g-Moll
1 I Adagio sostenuto ed espressivo 4:54
2 II Allegro molto più tosto presto 10:29
3 III Rondo: Allegro 9:10
4 Sieben Variationen über Mozart’s „Bei Männern, welche Liebe fühlen“ WoO 46 in Es-Dur aus Die Zauberflöte 9:25
Sonate op. 5 Nr. 1 in F-Dur
5 I Adagio Sostenuto 2:35
6 II Allegro molto più tosto presto 14:46
7 III Rondo: Allegro vivace 7:17
8 Zwölf Variationen über Mozart’s „Ein Mädchen oder Weibchen“ op. 66 in F-Dur aus Die Zauberflöte 10:09
Total time: 1:08:45

Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner