COV 92110

The Silver Trio brings together three composers of very different provenance and epoch on its latest release. The young Ludwig van Beethoven, who came from the piano as a soloist, took his first steps in the direction of chamber music in 1794 by expanding the instrumentation to include the two string instruments – and thus created epochal masterpieces that raised the equality of the three instruments to a new level. Also at home on the piano was Sergei Rachmaninoff, who wrote his Trio elegiaque in 1892 as a 19-year-old student, thus demonstrating his exceptional talent at the Moscow Conservatory. Leonard Bernstein was also a student and 19 years old when his Trio was written – typical of his style with a lot of temperament. All three are fascinatingly fresh early works, which the likewise still very young Austrian-Swiss trio knows how to realise with congenial youthful verve.

The Silver Trio © Anja Köhler
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Trio for piano, violin and cello in C minor Op. 1 No. 3
1. Allegro con brio 10:02
2. Andante cantabile con Variazioni 8:08
3. Menuetto. Quasi Allegro 3:53
4. Finale. Prestissimo 8:01
Sergej Rachmaninov (1873-1943)
Trio élégiaque, No. 1 in G Minor
5. Lento lugubre – più vivo 13:49
Leonard Bernstein (1918-1990)
Piano Trio, 1937
6. Adagio non troppo – Più mosso – Allegro vivace 7:37
7. Tempo di marcia 3:37
8. Largo – Allegro vivo et molto ritmico 4:37
Total Time: 59:50


Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner