Brought together by their love of chamber music and the simple joy of playing together, Jonathan Allen, Victor Caccese, Ian Rosenbaum and Terry Sweeney formed Sandbox Percussion in 2011. A central tenet of their mission as an organization has been to collaborate with composers over long periods of time to write music that stretches the boundaries of what is possible with percussion – both technically and expressively. Rosenbaum explains, “This collection of works represents four of the most meaningful and long-term relationships with composers that we have had as a group. Furthermore, this album is about the first nine years of Sandbox’s existence, and about the music of four people who have done a lot to help us become the musicians we are today.”

“… virtuosic and utterly mesmerizing.”
The Guardian

1. Haiku 2 by Andy Akiho 3:16
Music for Percussion Quartet by David Crowell
2. Mov. I – Fluctuation 5:17
3. Mov. II – Sky 3:40
4. Mov. III – Oscillation 4:53
5. Mov. IV – Landscape 2:11
Featuring David Crowell, guitar
6. she is a myth by Amy Beth Kirsten 6:20
Featuring Amy Beth Kirsten, vocals
not only that one but that one & that too by Thomas Kotcheff
7. Part I 8:21
8. Part II 8:58
9. Part III 10:15
Total time: 53:17


Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner