‚Duo Penny-Starkloff, while maintaining the traditinal and unique timbre of two violins, also succeeds excellently in bringing new life to the embodiment of the concept. This provided me with a valuable incentive to compose my Symphonic Variations for this particular ensemble. In addition, both of the artists are former students of mine and as such well acquainted with my idiosyncrasies, having frequently performed in concert together with me in the past.‘

EUGÈNE YSAŸE (1858-1931)
Sonate pour deux violons seuls, op. posthume
Sonata for Two Solo Violins
1. Poco lento-Maestoso, Allegro fermo 12:01
2. Allegretto poco lento 7:38
3. Allegro vivo e con fuoco 12:33
4. Symphonic Variations for Two Violins 11:15
Three Bagatelles for Two Violins
5. Tango Dreisamo 2:28
6. Rumba 1:47
7. Slow Fox 2:29
Total time: 50:11


Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner