A coproduction with:

On this Covello-record, the up-and-coming Swiss piano Trio Rafale follows the fascination “Jugendwerk”. In doing so, the young musicians have selected several pieces for their line-up which are characterized by an astonishing mastery. With lots of musical detail and playfulness, the early works of Shostakovich, Henze, Giger, Rachmaninoff and Debussy become a real listening experience. It‘s hard to believe that these pieces were composed by teenagers.

“‘Youthful Passion’ — the album title gets straight to the heart of the matter, for every piece has its passionate outbursts […] The Trio Rafale, with their perfectly balanced ensemble playing and differentiated timbres, is particularly concerned with bringing out the contrasts in the pieces to the finest degree possible […] an exceptionally interesting voyage of discovery.”
(Cosima Obert in: WDR 3 Tonart, 22.3.2017)

Trio Rafale: Maki Wiederkehr, Daniel Meller, Flurin Cuonz Bern, den 04.04.2017 Copyright: Trio Rafale / Priska Ketterer
Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975)
1. Trio for violin, violoncello & piano No. 1 in C minor, op. 8 (1923) dedicated to Tatjana I. Gliwenko 13:06
Hans Werner Henze (1926-2012)
Sonata da camera for piano, violin, violoncello (1948)
2. I Allegro assai 2:18
3. II Dolce, con tenerezza 3:53
4. III Lento 1:16
5. IV Allegretto 2:05
6. Epilogo 2:05
Jannik Giger (*1985)
7. CAPRICE for violin, violoncello and piano (2013) dedicated to Trio Rafale 11:01
Sergei Rachmaninov (1873-1943)
8. Trio élégiaque No. 1 in G minor (1892): Lento lugubre 13:41
Claude Debussy (1862-1918): Trio in G, L.3 (1880)
Beaucoup de notes accompagnées de beaucoup d‘amitié, offert par l‘auteur à Son professeur Monsieur Emile Durand
9. Andantino con moto allegro 8:21
10. Scherzo. Intermezzo. Moderato con allegro 3:32
11. Andante espressivo 3:52
12. Finale. Appassionato 5:32
Total time: 1:11:32


Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner