It was obvious that the Blue Chamber Quartet would add George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue to their repertoire one day. It could just have easily marked the beginning of their career, as the ensemble founded in 2005 and Gershwin’s compositions from 1923/24 share a similar approach: the connection between classical music in the broadest sense with elements of jazz. This can also be seen in the other works on this recording that the Blue Chamber Quartet play in their very own way.

Leonard Bernstein (1918-1990): Candide
1. Overture (arr.: Charlie Harmon) 4:42
Isaac Albéniz (1860-1909): Suite española (arr.: Thomas Schindl)
2. Aragon 5:06
3. Granada 4:36
4. Asturias 6:36
Mark Glentworth ( *1960):
5. Blues for Gilbert (arr.: Cordi Vilaprinyó) 6:19
Allen Shawn ( *1948): Three Dance Portraits (arr.: Thomas Schindl)
6. Lilting 2:20
7. Grazioso 2:18
8. Hard Edged 2:57
George Gershwin (1898-1937):
9. Rhapsody in Blue (arr.: Thomas Schindl) 18:04
Total time: 53:23


Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner