For the setting of the contemplative but highly emotional text of the medieval sequence Stabat mater Boccherini chose an intimate chamber music instrumentation of soprano and string quintet (in his preferred instrumentation with two violins, viola and two cellos). The five string instruments are not only accompaniment, but together with the singing voice they transform into one instrument section, so that one can speak of a sextet for singing voice and string quintet. With the angelic singing of Núria Rial, the work becomes a real treat for lovers of beautiful voices and chamber music lovers alike.

L U I G I   B O C C H E R I N I  (1743 – 1805)
F minor, G 532 for soprano, 2 violins, viola, violoncello and double bass (1st version of 1781)
1 I Stabat mater dolorosa, Grave assai 4:17
2 II Cujus animam gementem, Allegro 2:04
3 III Quae moerebat et dolebat, Allegretto con moto 2:43
4 IV Quis est homo, Adagio assai – Recitativo 1:23
5 V Pro peccatis suae gentis, Allegretto 3:25
6 VI Eja mater, fons amoris, Larghetto non tanto 4:58
7 VII Tui nati vulnerati, Allegro vivo 4:00
8 VIII Virgo virginum praeclara, Andantino 4:35
9 IX Fac ut portem Christi mortem, Larghetto 2:21
10 X Fac me plagis vulnerari, Allegro commodo 2:15
11 XI Quando corpus moriretur, Andante lento 3:57
Sinfonia G 500 in D major (1767)
12 I Allegro 2:27
13 II Andante 3:13
14 III Menuetto primo – Trio 2:42
15 IV Presto 1:19
Total time: 45:48

Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner